Higher Technical Qualifications are being introduced in 2022. Find out what they are, who they're for, and what and where you can study.

What are Higher Technical Qualifications?

Higher Technical Qualifications are either new or existing Level 4 and 5 qualifications (such as HNDs/foundation degrees/Diploma HE).

They’ve been developed by awarding bodies in collaboration with employers, so you’ll get the right training, knowledge, and skills to succeed in the workplace. 

They are based on a common set of standards with apprenticeships/T Levels and have  been approved by the Institute for Apprenticeships and Technical Education as meeting occupational standards for the relevant sector.

Who are Higher Technical Qualifications for?

  • They're for students over 18 who want to study a subject to prepare them for skilled jobs, and also for adults looking to retrain or upskill.
  • They would suit you if you want a more practical, employer-led programme.
  • Although Higher Technical Qualifications are primarily designed for entry into skilled employment or those looking to retrain or upskill, you could also progress to further study and/or training. 

Where can I study a Higher Technical Qualification?

  • Higher Technical Qualifications are mostly taught in the classroom, in further education colleges, universities, Institutes of Technology or independent training providers.

  • They don't usually involve industry placements, but you could learn practical skills in workshops or simulated work places.

Why take a Higher Technical Qualification?

  • They’re a high-quality alternative to other popular routes, such as apprenticeships, traineeships or degrees
  • They can lead to high-skilled, well paid jobs in a range of sectors, giving you a head start in your chosen career. 

What subjects are available?

From 2022: The first Digital Higher Technical Qualifications will be taught, leading to occupations such as:

  • network engineer
  • software developer
  • data analyst

From 2023: Higher Technical Qualifications in Health and Science and Construction will be taught.

Further occupations will be rolled-out over four years. 

Find out more about Higher Technical Qualifications on the GOV.UK website.